Bringing Home Bulldog

For a long time I’ve wanted an English bulldog. I love their personality and their big wrinkly faces. Since last year when we got the yard fenced, we’ve been ready for a new addition to the family. I looked locally and found that English bulldogs are a hot commodity. There are very few people who want to give up their bullies, and when they do it’s often because the dog doesn’t get along with other dogs. This is not an optimal situation for me, since Sugar the beagle has seniority (in many senses) and a history of slipped discs in her back and I needed to be sure that a new dog would defer to her. I wanted a calm dog, probably older, not too big, who wouldn’t knock her over or bother her.

I decided in February that I would look for a rescue English bulldog for one year, and save for a puppy during that time, so that if I didn’t find someone by next Valentine’s Day, we’d get a puppy.

Eventually I decided to expand my search radius. I found Long Island Bulldog Rescue, and the rest is history. A post came up on their Facebook page about a senior boy named Cheech whose human baby sister was ostensibly allergic to him. He was described as good with other dogs. He seemed like a perfect fit for Sugar, and I applied for him that night.

I had several phone conversations with Laurette, who runs the rescue organization, and the owner, who was truly sad to be giving up his buddy. But he was happy to hear that he would be going to a good home – lots of dog beds, air conditioning, no steps, and two dog lovers to love him. I had totally fallen for Cheech before I asked how big he was. “Oh, he’s only about 75 pounds.” The phone was on speaker and my and Sherpa’s jaws both dropped. We were NOT expecting that. But we were already sold.

His previous owner is a traditional Long Island dude who I am fairly sure rarely left LI. When we were discussing how and where to meet, he said he had looked on the computer and found a Sleepy’s Mattress Center on Staten Island where we could meet, since “around here Sleepy’s has a parking lot.”

So, I bought some supplies and we drove to Staten Island and ended up meeting in a bank parking lot. His owner was there with an enormous, smiling bulldog. “LOOK AT HIM!” I yelled. He was amazing. We had an emotional time with his owner. We all cried and I promised I’d send photos and updates. Then we put a beast of a bulldog in the car and set out for home.

We have enjoyed the heck out of this funny guy. He came home to a new house and a new name: Arthur. He has been to the vet pretty much weekly since we brought him home 2 months ago. The vet literally gave me a round of applause for taking on a senior EB. He’s worth it. He’s hilarious: He snores loud, farts louder, and generally looks like he’s rolling his eyes at you whenever he’s awake.

And we lucked out – he has been great with Sugar. Actually… she barked at him a couple of times and that let him know who’s boss. He was terrified of her for a while and would run away when he saw her. Now they are settling in together. And I think he’s feeling at home now. Maybe all the pooping in the kitchen did it.

Laurette from Long Island Bulldog Rescue works tirelessly to place hundreds of English bulldogs in foster and forever homes every year. I want to give her a special shout out and also a shout out to the pet rescue volunteers I have met in the last few months! Good people with good hearts who do good things. We wouldn’t have this guy to snuggle without you.

On the way home with an adorable big smelly beast.
On the way home with an adorable big smelly beast.
Mushy sleep face.
Mushy sleep face.
Treats for dogs.
Treats for dogs.
Chilling with ice packs after a hot trip to the vet.
Chilling with ice packs after a hot trip to the vet.

Arthur new bed Arthur wiggles

Coming home from teeth cleaning.
Coming home from teeth cleaning.
Bulldog hug!
Bulldog hug!
Distinguished dogs.
Distinguished dogs.
Happy homecoming!
Happy homecoming!
Sunning on the patio.
Sunning on the patio.
The most interesting dog in the world.
The most interesting dog in the world.

1 thought on “Bringing Home Bulldog”

  1. Awwww! I loved reading this. Thank you so much for adopting! Not only for adopting, but adopting a senior. They get overlooked so often. I would love to adopt a senior dog but have enough health problems of my own that I could not afford one.

    Cheech is a very cute bully. 🙂 Congrats!

Leave a Reply

