Satisfied Mind: How Do You Find It?

This blog’s namesake is the title of a song. I originally heard it sung by Jeff Buckley. I found Jeff Buckley via my brother while I was getting divorced. I’m almost embarrassed to say now that I didn’t know about him until my mid twenties, especially now that I’m such a big fan. But his music helped me to regain my “satisfied mind” then, and that’s what music does for me now. Here’s a recording of the song that inspired me to begin writing this blog, my personal how-to-stay-happy story.

Here are the lyrics, which have a message I subscribe to:

How many times have you heard someone say,
“If I had money, I would do things my way.”
But little they know, that it’s so hard to find
one rich man in ten, with a satisfied mind.

Money can’t buy back all your youth when you’re old,
a friend when you’re lonely, or peace to your soul.
The wealthiest person, is a pauper at times
compared to the man with a satisfied mind.

When my life is over and my time has run out,
my friends and my loved ones, I will leave there’s no doubt.
But one thing’s for certain, when it comes my time,
I’ll leave this old world with a satisfied mind.
But one thing’s for certain, when it comes my time,
I’ll leave this old world with a satisfied mind mind mind, mind mind,
satisfied mind.

Music is a great healing force for me, and singing in a community choir has been a really rejuvenating experience! I had another audition last week, this time for the summer choir with the same director I sang with for the spring, and I got the thumbs up yesterday. Another season of singing for me! This audition was MUCH less terrifying than the last one.

So, how do you find your satisfied mind?

1 thought on “Satisfied Mind: How Do You Find It?”

  1. I, much like you, find my satisfied mind via music. But writing also helps me to find my satisfied mind. It’s the one thing I feel I do well in life.

Leave a Reply

