2010, a Springboard

I like to tie things up into neat packages, and I’m trying to do that with my year. How can I describe it? Was it just a year like any other? No, definitely not – I started the year with a lot of hope and an open heart, working on my own Happiness Project, jumping in with both feet. I tried and learned new things, went new places, had a wonderful year with El Sherpa (“Aunt Jen’s New Boyfriend”), met new people, made new friends and kept the old. Was it a year of revelation? A little bit, in that I discovered what a truly healthy, adult relationship is like, but in essence – and thankfully – nothing earth-shattering happened in my life. Was it all sun and sparkles? No, I had surgery, and there were those AWFUL bits with Vladimir the roommate from Hades. And I crashed my bike. And really stressful stuff happened at work.

But when I put all this together, it feels like maybe the energy I put into focusing on good things when going got tough earlier this year finally came back to me, multiplied, by the end of the year. It feels like I jumped on a giant springboard, which sank, as they do, but then propelled me up. I have high hopes for 2011.

2 thoughts on “2010, a Springboard”

  1. Great post! I was thrilled to see 2009 bite the big one, but 2010 was — like you said — the year when starting with a positive attitude and open heart meant very good things later in the year. I got bumps and bruises, yet no complaints.

    Probably the best thing I keep hearing whispered from friends is 2011 will begin with hopefulness.

    Speaking of hope, I’m working on the book again with the intention of getting it repped by an agent in the fall or winter. Please let me know if you would like to check out the new, revamped early chapters. Also, as you read the whole thing before, I wouldn’t mind getting your perspective on what was most and least satisfying about the prior draft.

    Best wishes on an amazing 2011 and may you climb many high peaks with your Sherpa.

Leave a Reply

