Mix Tape Flashback

I have another tape to tell you about! I know you all couldn’t wait to see what other odd combinations of songs I just HAD to have compiled on cassette tape in 1995. And I must have been leaping into the future for these songs, because there’s no way any of them is 15 years old. And this is a weirder mix than the last. Well, without further ado, a slice of my musical life, September 1995:

A Side

  1. Roll to Me – Del Amitri
  2. Down Under – Men at Work
  3. Closer – NIN
  4. The opening song to the Y100 Barsky in the Morning radio show (’94-’98) – Can ANYONE tell me what this is? It’s a big-band type song, and super fun.
  5. Hook – Blues Traveler
  6. Get Off This – Cracker
  7. Send Me on My Way – Rusted Root
  8. Life Is a Highway – Rascall Flatts
  9. Ants Marching – DMB
  10. My Friends – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  11. I’ll Take You There – General Public
  12. ‘Til I Hear It From You – Gin Blossoms
  13. Pulling Mussels From a Shell – Squeeze

B Side

  1. I Walked – Wanderlust
  2. You Spin Me Round – Dead or Alive (oh boy!!!! really?)
  3. Name – Goo Goo Dolls
  4. And We Danced – Hooters
  5. Feed the Tree – Belly
  6. All Over You – Live (I still really love this song, and Live, yes, despite their religious roots)
  7. Assistant Principal’s Big Day – Adam Sandler
  8. Another Adam Sandler song that I can’t post here (WOW, Jen)
  9. Love in an Elevator – Aerosmith (I heard this years earlier at a friend’s house, and I believe I added this to the mix because I had recently realized it wasn’t about elevators)
  10. Mary Jane’s Last Dance – Tom Petty
  11. Moonlight Sonata – Beethoven (This was the first song I learned for the piano that I truly fell in love with.)

After checking all these songs out again and having a little pow-wow with my self of half a lifetime ago, I find the collection to be a really interesting intersection of hangers-on to the 80’s and the beginnings of grunge. And then the bad comedy… and Beethoven… I’m like an onion, people. Eh?

Leave a Reply

