Foot Off the Gas

Life has not slowed down or gotten any easier recently. I made it out of the woods on the Vladimir business, and then there was chaos at work, which started other chaos that I am now needing to grow clones to manage. I’m in week 3 of oh-my-god-how-am-I-going-to-do-all-this, but I’m sure that in a month or so I’ll wonder what all the fuss was about.

Yesterday I felt particularly overwhelmed. My brain was jumping hours, days, weeks ahead to everything I should be getting done. By the end of the day I was miserable. Sherpa tried to take me out for a drink, but that didn’t even help. I even forgot to call my mother on her birthday. I suck.

I try to avoid talking about work at all here, but I saw a post on Copyblogger whose message was just the reminder I needed for life and work right now, and it fits my blogging purposes perfectly: slow down and put your heart in it.

Is Spiritual Business a Contradiction in Terms?

This post’s author writes about putting your heart into your business, which is something I’ve resisted without putting too much thought into, because I don’t think your job should define who you are. But when you think about it, you need to put some heart into your job, or it can drain the spirit right out of you. After all, you get what you give, karma’s a bitch, etc.

I also appreciated the reference to Rumi and Hafiz, whose words of wisdom I’ve admired recently. So, hopefully I can keep this in mind and take a deep breath when I find myself in a cloud of flying papers and Post-Its with my fingers making little puffs of smoke on the keyboard.

And maybe I’ll remember to call my mother tonight.

Leave a Reply

