Rodrigo y Gabriela

I’ve learned over the last few years just how important music is to my well being. Some people don’t need it, but I really, really do. It’s part of my whole “satisfied mind” way of life – I try to trend my thoughts toward what makes me happy, and music makes me happy. And there are certain songs that I connect to important people and moments in my life, and those connections will never go away. Really – many of my friends have songs attached to them… does anyone else do this? For example, one of the first person-song connections I ever made was my grandfather to the song “Unforgettable” by Nat King Cole. Whenever I hear these songs I’m happily transported to fond memories (aaaand the downside is that sometimes I have to turn some songs off, but there’s plenty of good-memory music to enjoy).

And I get a lot of my favorites from friends. Like right now – I’m listening to the Black Keys on the recommendation of a kindred music soul. Good stuff. I try to make it a point to get a music recommendation from every new, interesting person I meet. It makes going on a lot of first dates a little easier and rewarding. I got a lot of good music from dates that went nowhere or just new friends. To name a few: Ray Lamontagne, Colin Hay, Alexi Murdoch, The Album Leaf, Bon Iver, Medeski Martin & Woods, Dawes. The Gaslight Anthem, Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova… I could go on.

And I was introduced to the guitarist pair Rodrigo y Gabriela by my Chicken’s husband. (I don’t have a blog nickname for him yet. Rooster? “The Cock” is probably not appropriate. <Snort>)

I digress. The point is that I fell head over heels for RyG and got tickets to their show when they came through Philly last week. And it was AMAZING. Like, soul-cleansingly awesome. My brother and the Chicken and another friend of hers came to the show. We were in the third row. Gabriela blew my mind. All their percussion is hitting the guitar. And they do heavy metal covers. Please to be entertained by the following visual video thingy:

1 thought on “Rodrigo y Gabriela”

  1. “If I should ever die, God forbid, let this be my epitaph: The only proof he needed for the existence of God was music.”

    – Kurt Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

