Happiness Project: Spending Out

So I’m still reading Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project, and had been enjoying it until I got to her description of “Spending Out.” Then I really, really went gaga over it.

She describes spending out in the Happiness Project blog, so check that link if you want her take on it, but essentially it means stop being stingy, with everything – stop hoarding, stop holding onto things unnecessarily, stop holding back. And this means things as well as your self.

The goal of spending myself out toward other people is really the whole reason I started my little happiness project/nonrandom acts of kindness. And when I think of it that way it makes total sense to me. It’s not about just doing nice things for people, it’s about sharing my self around, not just sitting around hermit-like and dreaming about things I’m not doing. Festering and rotting… Reminds me of a scene from one of my all-time favorite movies:

🙂 Off I go to spend myself out…

Leave a Reply

