Proofs of Love

It’s another Gretchen Rubin post!

So I just reached a section of the book on strengthening marriage by remembering to be kind. Seeing as I am no longer in a marriage, I have to apply this to my relationships with family and friends. And I think that’s a good tack to take for anyone, married or not. But, good lord! Gretchen Rubin must have taken a little weekend trip into my brain at one time, because I really identify. She quoted the French poet Pierre Reverdy, who said “There is no love; there is only proof of love.”

Well, he said, “Il n’y a pas d’amour; il n’y a que des preuves d’amour” actually, but maybe I’m being a French-major nerd by including the original. No… it is apropos to the post, because that exact quote has lived with me since a very sad night when I was going through my divorce. I was watching a movie in my old house – Stealing Beauty. (It’s a lovely movie about passion and art and Italy, with a young Liv Tyler. Watch it.) Well, at one point, a few people at this artists’ retreat are chatting outside after dinner, and an older man walks by, stops, and says that line, in French. It hit me hard, and meant a lot to me at the time. I’ve kept it with me and have tried to practice outward proofs since, although it was only while reading The Happiness Project today that I learned who said it. So, that was cool.

2 thoughts on “Proofs of Love”

  1. Goodreads.com attributes the quote to Jean Cocteau.
    My philosophy professor attributed it to Sartre.
    Can you provide citation?

Leave a Reply

