Mix Tape of a Teenage Girl

So 15 years ago, I was sitting in my room in the house I grew up in, surrounded by pink, listening to the radio with my finger poised on the tape player’s “REC” button. I would record all the songs I liked at the time, until the tape was full. This past year in the midst of purging my childhood crap, I tossed all of my old cassette tapes (things like Genesis, Bon Jovi, REM), but I saved the mixes. I just couldn’t bear to part with something I put so much work into! And having read my friend Brian’s post yesterday on his music blog Biz-Stories, I was inspired to share. So now without further ado, since I’d like to get rid of these almost-unplayable tapes, here is one playlist:

Radio Mix, 6-14-95, a few weeks shy of my 15th birthday:

  1. Matthew Sweet – Sick of Myself
  2. Better Than Ezra – Good
  3. Offspring – Self Esteem
  4. Live – Lightning Crashes
  5. The Rembrandts – I’ll Be There for You (The “Friends” theme song…)
  6. Dave Matthews – What Would You Say?
  7. Offspring – Gotta Get Away
  8. Adam Ant – Wonderful
  9. Offspring – Play
  10. Sponge – Molly (16 Candles)
  11. Elastica – Connection
  12. Billy Idol – Dancin’ With Myself
  13. Indigo Girls – Least Complicated
  14. Dionne Farris – I Know What You’re Doing
  15. Violent Femmes – Blister in the Sun
  16. Melissa Etheridge – Like the Way I Do
  17. Oasis – Live Forever
  18. Nine Inch Nails – Hurt
  19. Peter, Paul & Mary – Leavin’ on a Jetplane
  20. U2 – All I Want Is You (and you might learn a little about my TV obsession if you click this link.)
  21. Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse of the Heart (ruined forever by the Dan Band and the literal parody)
  22. Peter Gabriel – In Your Eyes
  23. Blues Traveler – Runaround (I ended up seeing these guys, and Live, from the front row during college. One of the best shows I’ve ever been to.)
  24. Collective Soul – Gel
  25. Erasure – Respect

And, bonus! On the cassette insert I drew little hearts next to my very favorites: Wonderful, Least Complicated, Like the Way I Do, Hurt, and Respect. And two of them got asterisks because they reminded me of my trip to Australia/New Zealand with People to People (Leavin’ on a Jetplane and In Your Eyes).

Surprise! I was an emotional teenage girl. … “Oh baby, refrain from breakin’ my heart!”

5 thoughts on “Mix Tape of a Teenage Girl”

  1. Wow, I think we were the same person back then. LOVED “Wonderful,” “Live Forever,” “Lightning Crashes,” “I Know What You’re Doing” and Offspring. Thanks for bringing me back to my youth and when music was still good 🙂

  2. Nice work! (and thanks for the shout out!). BTW I absolutely love that Matthew Sweet album. It’s my #2 of his behind Girlfriend. Only difference here was that I was listening to it in my college dorm in 95. I also saw Live play a free concert in the quad right before ‘Throwing Copper” came out. I fell asleep on the lawn. Oh well, at least I liked Mental Jewelry.

    Hey, check out grooveshark.com. You can make a playlist of the tunes you link to, and then post it as a widget. IF you want to, of course. I just updated mine with it, and it works pretty well!

Leave a Reply

