Gretchen Rubin (Professionally Happy)

“There is no duty we so much underrate as the duty of being happy.” -Robert Louis Stevenson

I started reading The Happiness Project last night, and even on the first page, she had me with the quote above. I agree that we all have a duty to be happy, because doing that work puts everything in perspective.

Well, in the first 10 pages of the book, I went from impressed to inspired to overwhelmed. Gretchen Rubin was able to devote so much time to research and planning for her happiness project, and I wish I could do the same. She read, she planned, she wrote. I mean, for god’s sake, she wrote 15 pages about STARTING the project. She sectioned her project into 12 themes, one per month, and worked to improve things in that theme during that month. Things like energy, love, money. I laughed today when I talked to my friend who lent me the book, who said, “What, is she PERFECT after that year is up?”

Alas, I have a full-time job, freelance gigs, a small business, and a lot of volunteering to do with Team In Training, so I don’t think I have quite as much time as she did. But I’ll give it to her – she says right off the bat that she understands that she’s a bit neurotic (which I identified with while moving furniture around my living room for the fourth time in a year) and everyone who chooses to embark on a happiness project is going to have a unique story.

And I had a bit of a revelation as I was reading. I don’t have to stick to the NRAoKs to successfully complete my project. Hell, it’s MY project and it’s about self-improvement. I just have to do something every day for the project…

2 thoughts on “Gretchen Rubin (Professionally Happy)”

  1. I saw the nice mention of my book, The Happiness Project, here. I very much appreciate those kind words and you shinning a spotlight on my work. Thanks and best wishes,
    Gretchen

Leave a Reply

