Matters of the Heart

I figured this was the best day to talk about my heart. Like, the actual organ: Today is National Wear Red Day (see goredforwomen.com), a day to raise awareness for women’s heart health. Heart disease is the number 1 killer of women, though many people don’t realize it.

So what the heck is going on with my heart? I’ve had some weird issues over the last two years or so, including some irregular/flopping-heartbeat-at-random-times feelings, a couple of wake-me-in-the-night pounding heart moments, and some chest-pain-while-exercising events.

Though I tend to put it off, I’ve tried to be responsible and get it checked out. I had an echocardiogram done. Results? Nothing. Symptoms continued. I even had a 24-hour Holter monitor done, during which I was hooked up to leads and had a machine strapped to me. Results? Normal. Chest pains again after that, actually just a few days ago, during a trainer ride on the bike. The primary care peeps told me after the Holter results came back normal to call the cardiologist, but I wonder, what the heck for? Am I just getting old? I am about to turn 30, after all. Then again, there’s a bit of heart disease history in my family, and one of my brothers says the “flopping” thing has happened to him often for years. but years and every time he asks about it, he is told it’s nothing.

So maybe in addition to wearing red today, I’ll call the cardiologist.

1 thought on “Matters of the Heart”

  1. Call the cardiologist! If you didn’t have symptoms during the holter, then you wouldn’t know. You may need an event monitor, we talked about that. Give them a call!

Leave a Reply

