A Happiness Project

Earlier today I wondered whether I’d make a new year’s resolution. And I’ve noticed lately that I’ve been feeling a little down, so I wondered if I could resolve something to help myself get a little happier. I considered doing something blog-related, like a blog-a-day a la Badger Meets World, but that actually sounds a bit overwhelming and more like work than fun or happy.

I thought, maybe I could do a “nice-a-day” kind of thing, where I say something nice to or do something nice for a different friend each day. Making people happy makes me happy. But it seemed like an unhatched idea; people might think it was forced.

But the idea wasn’t altogether dead, and I still wanted to incorporate a blog into my happiness plan. Then I stumbled on Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project while surfing around Huffington Post. One of her tips from a year-long happiness journey of her own was “Don’t practice ‘random acts of kindness,'” because the recipients of this kindness end up being suspicious rather than happy. Instead, practice acts of kindness with purpose – be thoughtful and helpful in meaningful ways.

That’s it! I’m going to try to practice “non-random kindness” every day for a year. And you know what? I think I’ll try to direct some “non-random kindness” toward myself sometimes, because happiness is cyclical. Making people happy makes me happy, and making myself happier makes people happy, too. And I’ll try to share my acts with you here.

Happy, Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “A Happiness Project”

Leave a Reply

